The Personal Side of Bias, Prejudice, and Oppression

This week I experienced an opportunity in which I had hoped to create a moment of prejudice awareness with a family member. Having an understanding of her extreme biases, opinions, and extremely privileged attitude, she is someone that I have discontinued making efforts with to discuss issues of diversity and oppression. In light of this course, I chose to try again.

The opportunity presented itself when she posted false information about Canadian refugees on her Facebook account. In order to ensure that I had my information correct, I did a little research and then responded to her posting. Without any accusations, I attempted to open a conversation regarding this issue. Not surprisingly, I was shut down. I think what upset me the most about this incident was that she didn’t care that the information she was posting was false. It didn’t change how she felt and so in her eyes, it didn’t matter. In my mind, I questioned whether she was even aware of who Canadian refugees were and what the negative consequences of posting and reinforcing this information would be on this already marginalized group of people. Many people believe what they read on the Internet and having such false information circulating continues to oppress Canadian refugees by creating additional biases towards this group of people.

I chose not to respond because I knew that the Internet was not the place to have this conversation. From past experiences, I knew that she would take this as an opportunity to voice her biases and I was concerned that this would add to the already negative message that she had posted. I also knew that she was not interested in learning more about this situation. I was frustrated because this is a family member with whom I have a close relationship with and that regardless of my efforts to express another viewpoint, I will continue to be exposed to prejudices and biases without any regard to my own personal feelings or the effect that this attitude has on marginalized groups within our society. I am glad I made the attempt but have come to realize that regardless of how I present opportunities to discuss such biases in a safe environment, this is a situation in which this family member must be open and willing to listen and self reflect on her own thoughts and behaviours before any change will occur.