Practicing Awareness of Microaggressions

This past week during a dinner conversation, my children, who are 18 and 21 years old, were discussing a celebrity that I was not familiar with. In their description they included his slim build, the show he worked on, and his country of origin. They did not include his biological racial heritage. My husband, who was familiar with this celebrity, added to the conversation by asking, “Yes, but what country is he really from?” My children repeated that he was from England. “Yes, but what country is he really from?” was my husband’s response. Again, they said England. My husband, trying to get his point across, responded with “You know what I mean. What country is he really from? What country were his parents from?” The answer was Liverpool, England. This specific example of racial microaggression was not uncomfortable since our family conversations often involve controversial and reflective topics such as this in which we share our opinions and explore them deeper in a very safe environment. My son and daughter (who is a political science student currently taking a class in multiculturalism and the Canadian law) shared their ideas regarding the connection of racism and microaggression in an effort to assist their Dad in gaining some understanding of how his comments were biased. Although he was not fully convinced that his comments were biased, he was open to listening to our opinions in an effort to gain some understanding of unintentional biases and our point of view on the subject.

Although my experience this week included a microaggression in which the recipient of the bias was not present, we can still learn about the possible affects on those that were a part of the conversation. Most significantly is the continuation of prejudice from one generation to the next if this comment was made without discussion and reflection. However, discussion and reflection was a part of the conversation, resulting in an experience that reaffirmed for me that in order to completely rid ourselves of our biases we must be self-reflective. In addition, a key component of this self-reflection comes from being able to discuss our prejudices in a safe environment. In this week’s experience, a safe environment allowed the bias to surface and discussion to follow without judgment. In addition to the opportunities presented in EDUC 6164 at Walden University, I am so grateful for the family and friends that I have surrounded myself with, as they have truly been influential in my comfort in openly self-reflecting.