My Personal Research Journey

Last week for a class assignment, we were asked to choose three subtopics within a topic pertaining to early childhood research. Having chosen developmentally appropriate practice to focus in on, I considered studying peer relationships independent of adults, cultural support connections with self-identity, and the value of play on a child’s overall development. As a current kindergarten teacher, I could see the professional value of studying each of these topics. After much reflection I chose to focus in on the value of play in a child’s development as I often find myself in a position where I must explain and validate the purpose to this large part of our kindergarten day with many parents and occasional colleagues. As I began my search in this area, it soon became apparent that this subtopic was still too broad and that I would have to narrow my focus to a particular kind of play or perhaps, a particular developmental domain. I found this difficult to do so I stepped back and reread the Selecting a Research Topic that I chose for this week’s Research Chart in Section 2 and took advice from Mac Naughton, Rolfe, and Siraj-Blatchford (2010). I reflected on who else would be interested in any of these topics and what effect would my studies have on the children I was currently working with. I watched my class closely over the next few days and with fifteen boys and only six girls in my present class, issues and questions began to arise concerning the expectation of behavior in rough and tumble play. This reflection assisted me with narrowing my subtopic even further and I have chosen to explore the purpose and value of rough and tumble play in the early learning environment.

As it turned out, this is a field of study within early childhood that is not researched as much as other areas of play. It took me two full afternoons searching the Walden databases for updated research. Although I found valuable research from the 1970s and 1980s, I really wanted to understand current thoughts on this subject. This left me concerned for further study and whether I would be able to find the resources that I needed on this subject. I chose to go ahead with this sub-topic as I am certain it will be of value to my own learning and the learning of my students and their families. I would be quite interested if any of my colleagues can guide me as I continue to research this topic. Perhaps an article they have read or a researcher of this topic.

In all honesty, I was hoping to find research that would support this play so that I could validate its worth to those that may question the noise and activity that sometimes explodes from my room! I not only found support for this play but also an understanding in my own feelings of maintaining a safe environment at the same time. As stereotypical as it may seem, research supported that this play is often engaged in more by boys. What does it mean for me this year? Lots and lots of welcomed energy!

I have included three articles for further reading if anyone interested in reading more about the value of rough and tumble play in the early learning environment. All can be accessed through the Walden library.

Monsters, magic and Mr Psycho: a biocultural approach to rough and tumble play in the early years of primary school by Pam Jarvis

http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/09575140701425324#.VBRrjLxdU00

Young Children’s Rough and Tumble Play: Apprehensions and Opportunities by Michelle Tannock

http://eds.b.ebscohost.com.ezp.waldenulibrary.org/eds/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=78a23be7-9ece-4f2f-a187-c89d887b83e6%40sessionmgr112&vid=23&hid=105

Rough and Tumble Play 101 by Frances Carlson

http://eds.b.ebscohost.com.ezp.waldenulibrary.org/eds/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?sid=78a23be7-9ece-4f2f-a187-c89d887b83e6%40sessionmgr112&vid=27&hid=105

 

References

 Mac Naughton, G., Rolfe, S.A., & Siraj-Blatchford, I. (2010).  The research        process.  Doing early childhood research (2nd ed.) (pp. 13-34). New York,      NY: McGraw-Hill.