Sharing Web Resources

The following questions led my exploration of the NAEYC website found at http://www.naeyc.org/.

  • What specific section(s) or information seemed particularly relevant to your current professional development?

I am continuously developing and expanding my kindergarten program in response to my students, colleagues, administration expectations, and my new understandings of what is good practice for children.  Therefore, learning more about what is appropriate practice for children is an ongoing  topic of discussion and implementation with my early learning team.  The NAEYC website has a topics tab on their home page that has numerous topics that would directly apply to my interest and learning in this area and my present work environment.  Some of the topics that were of particular current interest include Developmentally Appropriate Practice (DAP), ethics, family engagement, nature, and play.  I chose to take a closer look at the DAP tab to see what information this early learning topic would provide for me.  The NAEYC has done a wonderful job with explaining what DAP is and what educators should consider to ensure that they are providing a DAP environment.  In addition to a clear definition, the site gives viewers three core considerations of DAP, twelve principles of child development and learning, five guidelines for effective teaching, and ten suggestions for incorporating DAP into the early learning environment.  To read even deeper beyond what is offered under each of these tabs, the NAEYC provides a link to a position statement that includes all of these featured components of DAP. After reading through each of these, I felt very confident that our early learning team and environment is on the right track. This resource will help serve as support for the decisions we make as we move into a new year of exploring with Reggio and creating a developmentally appropriate classroom with this philosophy in mind.

  • Which ideas/statements/resources, either on the website or in an e-newsletter, did you find controversial or made you think about an issue in new ways?

The use of technology and the amount of time young children spend using technology is often a controversial topic.  My first thought when discussions regarding technology arise jump immediately to video game playing.  Having respect for the opinions of the NAEYC, I was curious to find out how this topic was presented by this organization.  The NAEYC recognizes that today’s digital technologies provide another outlet for children to express themselves and expand their learning.  As I read through the NAEYC suggestions for how teachers can incorporate technological tools into their classroom, I realized how important exposure to these tools is necessary for skill building needed by today’s 20th Century Learners.  I also realized that there are so many tools outside of the typical i-phone and i-pad that my young students often talk about.  Many tools are available that allow children to research interests further, capture their learning, assist in learning, formally document children’s progress, and create projects with.

  • What information does the website or the e-newsletter contain that adds to your understanding of how economists, neuroscientists, or politicians support the early childhood field?

I was able to link to a research page through the topics tab where the NAEYC hopes to link professionals in the field with current research.  Specific reports, position statements, and the latest news in research are available through this link.  In addition, the NAEYC provides information on how to find research in the field and determine if it is sound and respectable research. I was particularly interested in the latest news section as I thought it was a great way to stay on top of current research in the field.  The NAEYC also provides a public policy link where visitors to the website can connect with current events and campaigns regarding policy and the early childhood field. Statements regarding federal funding and support for early learning are through NAEYC recommendations.  I had a difficult time finding anything specifically sourced from economists, neuroscientists, or politicians.

  • What other new insights about issues and trends in the early childhood field did you gain from exploring the website or e-newsletter?

I think that by exploring the NAEYC website, I have gained such an understanding to the depth of the field that is early learning.  The NAEYC demonstrates that the field goes far beyond what is happening daily in the early learning care and classroom environments and keeps visitors to the site well informed of current issues and trends that affect them.  The site is a great way to stay active in discussions around early learning and the NAEYC encourages active involvement of the early learning community by providing information about how professionals can be involved as advocates for early learning.  This led me to my own personal desire to become a member of an Alberta organization that can do the same for me.  Through my Alberta Teacher’s Association, I have explored the Early Childhood Education Council website.  This website provides various resources including current issues and ways to become involved as an advocate for early childhood.  I will definitely become a member of this council and look forward to connecting with others in the field that are a little closer to home and have an understanding of local issues.